Start welcoming the Black Parade

Posted: October 16, 2006 in Music

So I finally got to see the new My Chemical Romance video for the song Welcome to  the Black Parade. For two weeks now, a friend of mine has been urging me to check out the video, kinda hyping it in amcr way, and raising expectations in the process. My friend described the new song as a combination of “emo and hardcore”, dealing with an all-too familiar topic in MCR songs – death.

I can’t quite figure out the band’s seeming obsession with death (Helena, Ghost of You) but the latest video simply outshines their previous outings (yes, even the one with the invasion of Normandy scene). The music and vocals in the particular track may be less melodic and powerful than their last hits (and I in particular miss the strength of the vocals of Gerard Way and Frank Lero) but no doubt the video is great. On first listening, some guitar riffs were reminiscent of Brian May, perhaps confirming a recent announcement of the band that the new album would contain some elements from Queen. And oh yeah, the inverted mic stand in the video is a signature move of the late Freddie Mercury.

As has been written in many posts, the video talks about The Patient and his meeting with death, which came in the form of a Black Parade. In the video, Death did not appear as frightening as one would usually expect it to be – since everyone isn’t expecting death to be coming in the form of a parade, confetti, a band on a float, and funeral marchers, all dressed in black. The real coup was the outfit of the band members, a cross between a marching band uniform and a Halloween costume. And oh yeah, the hair of vocalist Gerard Way is way too cool (pardon the pun). He got it bleached blonde, and its way shorter.

Still want to find out though why MCR is so obsessed with the subject of death. I don’t know if they have stared at death the way we have.

The album’s release date is scheduled on October 24. Definitely worth checking out.

Lyrics to My Chemical Romance Welcome To The Black Parade
When I was a young boy,
My father took me into the city
To see a marching band.
He said,
“Son when you grow up, will you be the saviour of the broken,
The beaten and the damned?”
He said
“Will you defeat them, your demons, and all the non believers, the plans that they have made?”
Because one day I leave you,
A phantom to lead you in the summer,
To join the black parade.”

When I was a young boy,
My father took me into the city
To see a marching band.
He said,
“Son when you grow up, will you be the saviour of the broken,
The beaten and the damned?”

Sometimes I get the feeling she’s watching over me.
And other times I feel like I should go. Through it all, the rise and fall, the bodies in the streets.
When you’re gone we want you all to know We’ll Carry on,
We’ll Carry on
Though your dead and gone believe me Your memory will carry on
Carry on
We’ll carry on
And in my heart I cant contain it
The anthem wont explain it.

And we will send you reeling from decimated dreams
Your misery and hate will kill us all
So paint it black and take it back
Lets shout it loud and clear
Do you fight it to the end
We hear the call to
To carry on
We’ll carry on
Though your dead and gone believe me Your memory will carry on
We’ll carry on
And though you’re broken and defeated You’re weary widow marches on

And on we carry through the fears
Ooh oh ohhhh
Disappointed faces of your peers Ooh oh ohhhh
Take a look at me cause
I could not care at all Do or die
You’ll never make me
Cause the world, will never take my heart
You can try, you’ll never break me
Want it all,
I’m gonna play this part
Wont explain or say i’m sorry
I’m not ashamed,
I’m gonna show my scar
You’re the chair, for all the broken Listen here, because it’s only..
I’m just a man,
I’m not a hero
Just a boy, who’s meant to sing this song
Just a man,
I’m not a hero
I — don’t — care
Carry on
We’ll carry on
Though your dead and gone believe me Your memory will carry on
We’ll carry on
And though you’re broken and defeated You’re weary widow marches on
We’ll carry on
We’ll carry on
We’ll carry on
We’ll carry
We’ll carry on

Comments
  1. guile says:

    you’ve got good taste in music🙂..

  2. nokas says:

    i think that my chemical romance outdone themselfs, i say this because this album is diferent from every other thing that they produced so far, and now that i think about it its diferent from everything else.
    U say that my chemical romance are obseced with death, well in the helena video the porpoce was to remenber the late gerard and mikeys grandmother, from gost of you, same thing, and in this new video what my chemical romance are trying to say is that in their point of view death comes in any way you want.
    one more thing. Yes… their obceced with death, but theres also people who are obceced with sex or love or some other stuffs, the same way im obceced with this band.. XP
    oh! And i tottaly agreed in everything you said

  3. Fear Of Falling says:

    i’m glad you like MCR. However, the music video “Helena” is a tribute to the Way brother’s deceased grandmother. They tried to make it somewhat of a jumpy, energetic song because they didn’t think “She would want it to be a super downer”. Thier obsession with death is that at a young age they lived in Jersey, where people would always wind up dead. They weren’t allowed to play outside at all and it led em more towards comic books and horror flicks. Death AND revenge are mainly what thier songs are about, but staying alive and asking someone to care for you and to stay with you are other themes. Revenge comes from how Gerard Way and Frankie Iero were always being picked on and scorned by thier peers. Frank would get shoved in lockers. And a girl that Gerard liked took sleazy photos with her boyfriend. But songs such as “Famous Last Words” are about all of Gerard’s feelings and the band’s feelings rolled into one. It’s also asking for Mikey Way to stay in the band because he went through depression. The entire concept for the album came from when Mikey nearly quit and the band, break-up. Gerard got nightterrors and would record his voice into a tape recorder which the soundbites were used for “Sleep”. He then said “Life is one big black parade” and the CD was created. After of course the band played Mikey “Famous Last Words.” Whereas Gerard announced “Now all we need is the bass.” And “Skylines and Turnstiles” Was written when Gerard witnessed the 9/11 attacks from a ferry going to work as a comic book artist in New York. (How the band got started). So not all thier songs are about Death. Each one has a speacial meaning to the band that only they really know untill the press gets a hold of it. I also completely agree with you when you say you miss the old sounding MCR. Personally my favorite CD was “I brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love.” I hope I helped you relize why MCR is obsessed with the concept of death.