10 awesome facts about the Kabataang Makabayan

Posted: November 27, 2014 in Socio-Political

The National Council of the Kabataang Makabayan. Jose Ma. Sison, Charlie del Rosario, Leoncio Co, Ibarra Tubianosa, Arthur Pangilinan.

  1. The youth group Kabataang Makabayan was founded in 1964, or four years before the reestablishment of the Communist Party of the Philippines. Its leaders would be instrumental in the reestablishment of the CPP in 1968 and of the New People’s Army in 1969.
  2. The KM was a national seeding machine for the Philippine revolution. It helped in the rapid nationwide expansion of the CPP-NPA especially after Marcos declared Martial Law in 1972. The fascist dictatorship forced thousands of KM members to go underground and engage in the nationwide expansion of the revolutionary movement.
  3. During the 60’s, the KM trained and developed intellectuals and national leaders such as founding chair Jose Ma. Sison, Monico Atienza, Satur Ocampo, Julius Fortuna, Bal Pinguel and many others. The KM would be at the forefront of the First Quarter Storm of 1970 and the Diliman Commune of 1971.
  4. The KM was founded on November 30, 1964, on the 101st birthday of Andres Bonifacio. The group was inspired by the Katipunan and the democratic revolution against Spanish colonialism. The group advances what is known as the new-democratic revolution against imperialism, feudalism and bureaucrat capitalism. The official symbol on the KM is the alibata for letter K, also adopted from the Katipunan.
  5. Nationalist stalwart Senator Lorenzo M. Tanada delivered the keynote address to the founding congress of KM in 1964. He suggested that KM have a publication called Kalayaan, named after the publication of the Katipunan edited by Emilio Jacinto. The publication remains to this day and can be found online.
  6. There were 80 charter members when the KM started in 1964. They came from the ranks of students, workers, professionals and peasant groups.
  7. Many of the names found on the Wall of Remembrance at the Bantayog ng mga Bayani are members of KM who were martyred during the Marcos dictatorship. They include Charlie del Rosario, Merardo Arce, Armando Mendoza, Romulo Jallores, Nimfa del Rosario, and many others.
  8. Well-known CPP spokesman, the late Gregorio “Ka Roger” Rosal, was a member of the Kabataang Makabayan from the ranks of the peasantry.
  9. KM inspired the founding of another comprehensive youth organization called Anakbayan, which was also established on November 30, 1998. Anakbayan vowed to continue the work of Kabataang Makabayan in the legal democratic movement. Anakbayan works to arouse, organize and mobilize the Filipino youth for the national democratic struggle.
  10. Fifty years after its founding, the KM remains an active underground revolutionary organization and is a founding member of the National Democratic Front of the Philippines. It is the oldest of the national democratic mass organizations that still exist today. Its founding chair Prof. Sison remains active as the leader of the International League of Peoples Struggle and chief political consultant of the NDFP in the peace talks. He continues to take an active role in the Filipino people’s struggle for national and social liberation.

KM cegp.org


Comments are closed.